Tomorrow sees the return of the Big Bash League and our resident cricket guru Adam Roberts has all the info you need for this exciting T20 competition, from down under. Last year he correctly predicted the Perth Scorchers to win, so who is he picking this time? We’ll have betting tips and previews for every BBL game, so bookmark our page for the home of cricket betting, Betfred. 

Big Bash Betting Tips

Bet on the Big Bash with Betfred here

What is the Big Bash League?

The Big Bash League or BBL12 is the Twelfth season of the professional men’s Twenty20 domestic cricket competition in Australia. It is one of the premier T20 franchise competitions in the world and probably only second to the Indian Premier League (IPL) in stature and history. However, it is under threat from new upstarts, the UAE International League and South Africa’s SA20 competition, both of which will eat into the latter stages of this competition.

When does the competition take place and where can I watch it?

BBL12 runs from Tuesday 13th December through to the final on Saturday 4th February. It will be broadcast live and exclusively in the UK on Sky Sports. Fixtures will generally start between 7.30 and 10.30 am BST.

What is the Format?

Eight Franchise teams will play each other home and away, comprising 56 regular season matches, staged at 14 venues across Australia.

The top five teams in the league phase will progress to the playoff stage. There is a heavy advantage in finishing higher up the league – a team finishing 4th or 5th would have to win four extra matches to win the title whereas a team finishing 1st or 2nd can win it in just two.

Who are the eight franchises and what do their squads look like?

Adelaide Strikers

Adelaide Oval 53,583

Head Coach: Jason Gillespie

Captain: Travis Head

Wes Agar, Cameron Boyce, Alex Carey, Harry Conway, Colin de Grandhomme, Ryan Gibson, Travis Head, Adam Hose, Henry Hunt, Thomas Kelly, Rashid Khan, Chris Lynn, Harry Nielsen, Matt Short, Jake Weatherald, Henry Thorton, Peter Siddle, Ben Manenti

Brisbane Heat

The Gabba 42,000
Metricon Stadium 25,000

Head Coach: Wade Seccombe

Captain: Usman Khawaja

Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Sam Billings, Max Bryant, Sam Hain, Sam Heazlett, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Colin Munro, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Ross Whiteley, Jack Wildermuth, Spencer Johnson, Will Prestwidge, Josh Brown

Hobart Hurricanes

Blundstone Arena 20,000
UTAS Stadium 21,000

Head Coach: Adam Griffith

Captain: Matthew Wade

Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Caleb Jewell, Shadab Khan, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Billy Stanlake, Paddy Dooley, Chris Tremain, Mac Wright, Zak Crawley (overseas replacement for Shadab Khan), Jimmy Neesham (overseas replacement)

Melbourne Renegades

Docklands Stadium 48,003
GMHBA Stadium 34,000

Head Coach: David Saker

Captain: Nic Maddinson

Zak Evans, Aaron Finch, Akeal Hosein, Liam Livingstone (withdrawn), Jake Fraser-McGurk, Sam Harper, Mackenzie Harvey, Nic Maddinson, Shaun Marsh, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Kane Richardson, Tom Rogers, Will Sutherland, Jon Wells, Jack Prestwidge, Ruwantha Kellapotha, Marcus Harris, Andre Russell (replacing Liam Livingstone, first four matches only), Martin Guptill (replacing Liam Livingstone, 10 group matches and finals), Corey Rocchiccioli, Peter Handscomb

Melbourne Stars

Melbourne Cricket Ground 100,024
Junction Oval 7,000

Head Coach: David Hussey

Captain: Glenn Maxwell/Adam Zampa

Trent Boult, Joe Burns, Hilton Cartwright, Joe Clarke, Brody Couch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Liam Hatcher, Clint Hinchliffe, Nick Larkin, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Beau Webster, Luke Wood, Adam Zampa, Campbell Kellaway, Tom O’Connell, Sam Elliott, Cam McClure

Perth Scorchers

Perth Stadium 60,000

Head Coach: Adam Voges

Captain: Ashton Turner

Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Cooper Connolly, Cameron Green, Laurie Evans (contract terminated), Aaron Hardie, Peter Hatzoglou, Nick Hobson, Josh Inglis, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh (injured), Tymal Mills, Lance Morris, Jhye Richardson, Phil Salt (injured), Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Faf du Plessis (replacing Laurie Evans, first seven matches only), Adam Lyth (replacing Phil Salt, first half only), Stephen Eskinazi, Hamish McKenzie

Sydney Sixers

Sydney Cricket Ground 48,000
Coffs Harbour International Stadium 20,000

Head Coach: Gregg Shipperd

Captain: Moises Henriques

Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Dan Christian, Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Nathan Lyon, Izharulhaq Naveed, Chris Jordan, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe, Jordan Silk, James Vince, Todd Murphy, Mickey Edwards, Jack Edwards, Steve Smith

Sydney Thunder

Sydney Showground Stadium 22,000
Manuka Oval 16,000

Head Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Captain: Jason Sangha

Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha , Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, David Willey (withdrawn), Fazalhaq Farooqi (replacing David Willey, first nine matches only), Ben Cutting, Usman Qadir, Gurinder Sandhu, Sam Whiteman

Cricket Betting Odds

Sydney Sixers to win BBL12 – 7/2

The Sixers couldn’t add to their three Big Bash titles last year, losing to the Perth Scorchers in the final. However, this year they look ideally placed to regain the championship, mainly as they are going to keep a settled squad and lose relatively few players to the UAE and South African competitions.

Moises Henriques captains a side including Hayden Kerr, Josh Phillippe, James Vince, Steve Smith, Sean Abbott and Dan Christian. They’ve also picked up Perth’s leading scorer Kurtis Patterson who will bring additional firepower. I can’t see any way they don’t at least make the latter stages and give us some bang for our buck.

Jason Sangha top runscorer each-way (1/4 4 places) – 20/1

Over the other side of Sydney, the Thunder have a good looking squad but lose key players such as Alex Hales and Rilee Rossouw to the middle east in January. One man who is staying is skipper Jason Sangha, who top scored for the Thunder last season, with 445 runs – enough to make the top five in the standings. I think he might go a little higher this time.

Hayden Kerr top wicket taker each-way (1/4 4 places) – 20/1

Sixers all rounder Kerr finished 2nd in the top wicket takers last year and looks huge value at 20/1 to go one better in 22/23. The 26-year-old had a stunning strike rate of 12 with an average of 15 and with Sixers expected to go deep again, surely will be near the top of the bowling charts?

*All prices correct at the time of writing.

Welcome Offer – Bet £10 Get £30 in FREE Bets

New 18+ UK customers.

1st bet on sports of £10+ in one transaction at evens (2.0)+ settled within 7 days of registering.

£30 paid in free bets within 10 hours of bet settlement, 7-day expiry. Payment restrictions apply.

Full Terms & Conditions apply.

Register with Betfred