Batter Jason Roy, who played a major role in England’s 50-over World Cup triumph in 2019, has been left out of his country’s squad for the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year after a poor run of form.

Surrey star Roy, who is known for his explosive batting in limited-overs cricket at the top of the order, has totalled just 78 runs in six T20 internationals this summer – an average of just 12.66.

The 32-year-old has now lost his place in the squad for the T20 World Cup, which runs from October 16 to November 13, and he hasn’t even been named as one of three travelling reserves.

Roy’s spot has been taken by Phil Salt, who scored 57 on his T20 debut for England against the West Indies at Bridgetown in January this year before then hitting a century in a one-day clash against the Netherlands in June.

Captain Jos Buttler is one of the 15 named in the squad, although there are still slight concerns over his fitness due to the calf injury picked up during The Hundred and he may miss out on the upcoming series against Pakistan.

Barring the absence of Roy, there are no major surprises in England’s T20 squad, with fast bowlers Chris Woakes and Mark Wood both making the cut after recovering from their respective injuries.

T20 World Cup Betting Odds

Reece Topley, Chris Jordan, Sam Curran and David Willey are the other four outright pacemen selected, while all-rounder Ben Stokes provides another seam option.

Spinner Adil Rashid is also included, with all-rounder Liam Livingstone providing another spin option alongside Moeen Ali, who is expected to deputise as skipper for the injured Buttler against Pakistan.

Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook and Dawid Malan, who has been in scintillating form in The Hundred, complete the strong 15-man squad who are 3/1 favourites to lift the trophy Down Under.

Host nation Australia, who named Singapore-born batter Tim David in their squad, are 10/3 to triumph on home soil, while India are priced at 7/2 and Pakistan and New Zealand are both 7/1.

England T20 World Cup squad:

Jos Buttler (Lancashire) Captain

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Harry Brook (Yorkshire)

Sam Curran (Surrey)

Chris Jordan (Surrey)

Liam Livingstone (Lancashire)

Dawid Malan (Yorkshire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

Phil Salt (Lancashire)

Ben Stokes (Durham)

Reece Topley (Surrey)

David Willey (Yorkshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Mark Wood (Durham)

Travelling Reserves

Liam Dawson (Hampshire)

Richard Gleeson (Lancashire)

Tymal Mills (Sussex)


Cricket Betting Odds