India (11/4 T20 World Cup outright) head to the T20 World Cup seeking to win the tournament for the first time since its inaugural staging in 2007.

With only England (3/1 T20 World Cup outright) ranked above them in the T20 format of the game, India, led by Virat Kohli, should be fighting for the title.

They have underachieved in this tournament in recent years and will be desperate to put that right.

T20 World Cup Results

The 2007 win against fierce rivals Pakistan (9/1 T20 World Cup outright) remains the closest margin of victory in the tournament’s history – just five runs were the difference.

Gautam Gambhir’s 75 run haul proved huge while Rohit Sharma, still going strong 14 years later, posted an unbeaten 30.

However, they have since reached only one final, losing to Sri Lanka (66/1 T20 World Cup outright) in 2014.

A semi-final defeat by eventual champions West Indies (13/2 T20 World Cup outright) was their last result in 2016.


India have played three T20 series in the past 12 months, winning two and losing one.

The most impressive probably came last year when they defeated Australia in December, taking the first match by 11 runs before a six-wicket mauling two days later.

They then comfortably beat England on home soil in February before losing a three-match series to Sri Lanka in July – the hosts winning by four and seven wickets to turn the series around.

Star Player

India are so loaded with quality, it is difficult to see a weakness in their ranks.

However, the aforementioned Sharma is possibly their go-to option if they need to secure runs quickly.

He has scored 2,864 runs in 111 T20 matches and has the added bonus of experiencing the conditions that will come by playing in the UAE.

With the IPL having been played in the UAE last year, Sharma will be more than ready for what lies ahead.


Kohli will attempt to lead India to their first T20 World Cup title for 14 years this time around.

Alongside his captaincy duties, the 32-year-old will also aim to bat India to the title – he is currently ranked number four in the world for T20 batsmen.

T20 World Cup – Australia Focus

T20 World Cup – Afghanistan Focus

T20 World Cup – England focus

Whenever you bet on Cricket, Betfred.